The picturesque village of Southwick lies at the heart of Southwick Estate. The village is situated six miles north of Portsmouth in Hampshire and within the district authority of Winchester. Southwick means “south dairy farm” and at some point this farm grew into a small village. Between 1143-53 the Augustian monks from Porchester founded Southwick Priory. After the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII he sold the assets on the 15th March 1539 to John Whyte.
The Southwick Estate is privately owned and managed by John Robin Thistlethwayte and his son Mark Edward Thistlethwayte who are the descendants of John Whyte. The Estate owns almost the entirety of the main village with the exception of Southwick House, as this was requisitioned by the government during World War II and compulsorily purchased in 1950. It is now primarily used as a training centre by the MoD triservice Defence College of Policing and Guarding.
The Southwick Estate comprises approximately 7,000 acres and lies to the north of Portsdown Hill from Waterlooville to Knowle. It almost wholly owned within a ring boundary, except for Southwick House. The Estate includes some 17 farms, 164 dwellings and numerous commercial premises.
The Southwick Estate owner is also the Master of Southwick and holds the offices and dignities of Lay Prior, Ordinary, Patron and Rector of the Peculiar and Parish of Southwick, and Boarhunt. This includes the parish churches of St James without the Priory Gate, Southwick and St Nicholas, South Boarhunt.